ThYme: Thioester-active Enzymes

Families - TE

Thioesterases hydrolyze thioester bonds. These occur between acyl chains and CoA, acyl chains and ACP, on acylated proteins at cysteine residues, and in various glutathione substrates. These enzymes terminate fatty acid synthesis by removing the CoA or ACP from the acyl chain.

Family Names of enzymes and genes present
TE1 Acetyl-CoA hydrolase 1 (Ach1)
TE2 1. Acyl-CoA thioesterase (Acot) 1-6
2. Bile acid-CoA amino acid N-acyltransferase (BAT) thioesterase
TE3 1. Acyl-CoA thioesterase I (tesA)
2. Protease I (apeA)
3. Lysophospholipase L1 (pldC)
TE4 1. Acyl-CoA thioesterase II, tesB
2. Acyl-CoA thioesterase 8 (Acot8)
TE5 1. Acyl-CoA thioesterase III, tesC (or ybaW)
TE6 1. Acyl-CoA thioesterase (Acot7) or Brain acyl-CoA thioesterase (BACH)
2. Acot11 or Brown fat inducible thioesterase (BFIT) or Thioesterase superfamily member 1 (Them1)
3. Acot12 or cytosolic acyl-CoA thioesterase (CACH)
4. YciA
TE7 1. Acyl-CoA thioesterase 9 (Acot9)
2. Acyl-CoA thioesterase 10 (Acot10), previously known as MT-ACT48
TE8 Acyl-CoA thioesterase 13 (Acot13) or thioesterase superfamily member 2 (Them2)
TE9 YbgC
TE11 1. 4HBT-II
2. EntH (YbdB)
TE12 1,4-dihydroxy-2-napthoyl (DNHA)-CoA hydrolases
TE13 1. paaI
2. paaD
TE14 1. FatA
2. FatB
TE15 Thioesterase CalE7
TE16 1. TE domain of fatty acid synthase (FAS) or thioesterase I
2. TE domain of polyketide synthase (PKS) or non-ribosomal
peptide synthase (NRP), or type I thioesterases (TE I)
TE17 TE domain of polyketide synthase (PKS)
TE18 1. S-acyl fatty acid synthetases/thioester hydrolases (Thioesterase II)
2. type II thioesterase (TE II)
TE19 luxD
TE20 Palmitoyl-protein thioesterase (ppt1, ppt2)
TE21 1. Acyl-protein thioesterase (apt1, apt2)
2. Phospholipase
3. Carboxylesterase
TE22 1. S-formylglutathione hydrolase
2. Esterase A (acetyl esterase)
3. Esterase D (carboxyesterase)
TE23 Hydroxyglutathione hydrolase (glyoxalase II)

Fcot-like thioesterase

Type III thioesterase


Fluoroacetyl-CoA thioesterase